Roland Garros: Cobolli also qualifies

Roland Garros: Cobolli also qualifies
Roland Garros: Cobolli also qualifies

The Roland Garros qualifiers are over. second Slam of 2023, scene on the Parisian red clay (Sunday off to the challenges of the main draws). And the men’s blue team at Roland Garros was further enriched.

On day 5 of the qualifiers, Flavio Cobolli also won a place in the main draw: the 21 year old Roman, n.159 in the ranking, in the decisive round defeated 75 63, in just over an hour and three quarters of a match, the French Laurent Lokoli, 28 year old from Bastia, n.198 ATP, never faced before in career. At the sixth overall attempt (the second in Paris) therefore the “son of art” managed to conquer a place in the main draw of a Grand Slam.

Italian en plein in the third round of qualifying. In fact, both Giulio Zeppieri had conquered a place in the main draw on Thursday (for the second year in a row) that Andrea Vavassori (for the first time): in the decisive round the 21-year-old from Latina, n.129 in the ATP and twelfth seed, liquidated 64 61 the Portuguese Frederico Ferreira Silva, n.225 in the ranking, the 28-year-old from Turin, n.148 in the ranking, he instead defeated the Chilean Alejandro Tabilo, n.152 ATP, 64 64.


“Roland Garros”
Grand Slam
Paris, France
May 28 – June 11
€49,600,000 – red clay


First round

(2) Yannick Hanfmann (GER) b. Mattia Bellucci (ITA) 76(3) 64

Elias Ymer (SWE) b. (17) Francesco Passaro (ITA) 76(5) 60

Alejandro Tabilo (CHI) b. Luca Nardi (ITA) 62 67(3) 75

Andrea Vavassori (ITA) b. (wc) Titouan Droguet (FRA) 63 76(3)

Riccardo Bonadio (ITA) b. (5) James Duckworth (AUS) 64 76(2)

Adrian Adreev (BUL) b. Francesco Maestrelli (ITA) 63 64

(7) Yosuke Watanuki (JPN) b. Andrea Pellegrino (ITA) 62 ret.

Flavio Cobolli (ITA) b. (wc) Mathys Erhard (FRA) 64 36 64

(12) Giulio Zeppieri (ITA) b. Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO) 64 61

Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR) b. Lorenzo Giustino (ITA) 67(6) 76(5) 61

Ricardas Berankis (LTU) b. (30) Raul Brancaccio (ITA) 63 57 62

(24) Facundo Diaz Acosta (ARG) b. Franco Agamenone (ITA) 75 63

(15) Facundo Bagnis (ARG) b. Luciano Darderi (ITA) 63 64

Matteo Gigante (ITA) b. Seong-Chan Hong (KOR) 75 64

Second round

Andrea Vavassori (ITA) b. (20 Filip Misolic (AUT) 64 61

Geoffrey Blancaneaux (FRA) b. Riccardo Bonadio (ITA) 63 62

Flavio Cobolli (ITA) b. (26) Lukas Klein (SVK) 64 64

(12) Giulio Zeppieri (ITA) b. Santiago Rodriguez Tavern (ARG) 63 64

(15) Facundo Bagnis (ARG) b. Matteo Gigante (ITA) 16 63 62

Qualifying round

Andrea Vavassori (ITA) b. Alejandro Tabilo (CHI) 64 64

Flavio Cobolli (ITA) b. Laurent Lokoli (FRA) 75 63

(12) Julius Zeppieri (ITA) b. Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR) 64 61


First round

Maja Chwalinska (POL) b. (2) Lucrezia Stefanini (ITA) 62 61

(24) Katie Boulter (GBR) b. Nuria Brancaccio (ITA) 62 46 64

PREV Franco Di Maria dies at the age of 45
NEXT Who enters and who gets the most votes Mayor Zanelli’s team among veterans and new entries