Antoine Dupont player of the year for the second time

The scrum half of Stade Toulosain and France Antoine Dupont adds another individual trophy to his prestigious career. Wins Investec award Champions Cup player of the yearfollowing his team’s 33-21 final success against Leinster.

First to win twice

The French champion is the first player to win the recognition for the second time after that of 2021. This time too it happens following an exciting series of performances by Dupont both in the preliminary round and in the direct elimination phase. Like three years ago, this time too Dupont led Toulouse to a dramatic victory, at the Tottenham Hotspur stadium in London, against Leinster. The final ended in extra time, for which he was also named man of the match. He was awarded with the trophy dedicated to the unforgettable Irish player Antony Foley, presented by his wife Olive Foley and his sons Tony and Dan (photo).

Who voted for it

Dupont’s election occurred by combining the popular vote, closed before the final, which saw the participation of around 30,000 fans, with that of a jury of experts made up of Jim Hamilton (two-time winner of the Champions Cup), Francois Louw ( world champion 2019), Ugo Monye and Dimitri Yachvili (Challenge Cup winners and TV commentators), Elma Smith (TV presenter and producer). In the rankings the French scrum-half preceded Courtney Lawes and Fin Smitch of Northampton and Markus Smith of Harlequins who received the nomination.

Now French title and Olympics

Dupont he is the only Frenchman together with Gregory Aldritt to have won this award, established in 2010. In 2021 he was named player of the year by World Rugby. Now his season continues with the aim of the “double” by winning the French title with Toulouse, next weekend the last round of the regular season of the Top 14 will be played. Then he will go on to attack the Olympic gold medal in Paris with the national sevens team, for which he missed the season with the Coqus rugby XV.

The roll of honor of players of the year:

2023: Gregory Alldritt (Stade Rochelais)

2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster Rugby)

2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)

2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)

2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)

2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)

2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)

2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)

2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)

2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)

2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)

2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – voted best player of the first 15 years of European club cups)

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV Milan, the FIGC Prosecutor’s Office closes the investigation into the move from Elliott to RedBird|Serie A
NEXT Euro 2024 kicks off, Germany-Scotland 5-1 – European Championship 2024