Sinner and the referee’s mistake: what happened against Tsitsipas

Sinner and the referee’s mistake: what happened against Tsitsipas
Sinner and the referee’s mistake: what happened against Tsitsipas

Jannik Sinner beaten in the semi-final in Monte Carlo by Stefanos Tsitsipas also due to a refereeing error. The Italian, number 2 in the world, was beaten in 3 sets by the Greek (6-4, 3-6, 6-4). In the third set, ahead by a break, Sinner was denied a game due to a huge error by the chair umpire: a ball from Tsitsipas that was well out was judged to be on the pitch. The correct evaluation would have allowed Sinner to score the second break and escape 4-1.

“It’s hard to accept: I was playing really well at the time. Everything was going in the right direction tactically,” Sinner says of the episode. “Everyone can make mistakes, me too. Afterwards I had some cramps, perhaps because of what happened, because it also affects you and your nerves. It becomes a problem in the head and it’s difficult to play”, he explains. Why didn’t you show the ball sign to the chair umpire on the disputed episode? “I could have stopped the game but that’s not my job, that’s the referee’s. His position was very favorable because it was the easiest line. But you have to accept it. Each of us makes mistakes. You have to take it with a smile. But it is not easy”.

The cramps in my right thigh suffered in the third set “are nothing serious. Now I need time to recover and Madrid will be a tournament of total preparation for Rome and Paris”.

 
For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News
 

PREV Napoli, PSG has an offer for Kvaratskhelia: 100 million. De Laurentiis, renewal is needed
NEXT Hamilton ahead of everyone, Leclerc fifth. Sainz, 10th, precedes Verstappen